Colors of Breast Milk

After my pumping session this morning, I removed my freshly pumped milk bottles and noticed something odd. The milk from my right side was tinted green and the left side was normal. I got a little worried, but figured it was probably nothing, but still strange to see the color change.

milk

Once I got back to my computer I Googled “green breast milk” and found out that apparently that is totally normal. And apparently there’s a whole rainbow of colors that your milk can be, some are normal and others you should watch for. I found this article called, “The Colors of Breast Milk” and pulled out a few key points to share:

“As the feeding or pumping session progresses from foremilk to hindmilk, the fat content increases and the milk becomes creamier and whiter. However, certain foods, herbs, nutritional supplements and medications can change the milk’s color to shades of pink, orange, red, brown, green and even black.”

“Drinking green-colored beverages, eating spinach or seaweed, and taking certain herbs or supplements can turn breast milk green.”

“Beets, orange soda, and red or orange fruit drinks can cause your milk to turn different shades of pink, red and orange.”

“If blood from inside your breasts leaks into your milk ducts, the milk may appear brown and rust-colored. This is called rusty pipe syndrome because the milk looks like dirty water from an old rusty pipe. Sometimes a little bit of blood from cracked nipples will get into your milk and create red or pink streaks.

A small amount of blood in the milk supply is not harmful to your baby. There is no need to stop breastfeeding. In most cases, the bleeding will go away on its own in a few days. If the issue has not resolved after a week, check with your doctor.”

“The production of black milk has been linked to the antibiotic minocycline (Minocin). Minocycline also causes darkening of the skin. The use of minocycline is not recommended while you are nursing.”

I had never heard of any of this happening until recently. A colleague of mine had told me about getting the “rusty pipe syndrome” when she was nursing and pumping for her baby. But as the article said, it does just go away. Some moms choose to dump that milk, but I would recommend consulting with a doctor first. I hate to dump milk if I don’t have to, which is why I promptly Googled my green, leprechaun milk. I guess the spinach I ate yesterday is the cause of my green milk today.

The moral of the story here is as always to watch what you eat or ingest while breastfeeding or pumping, for the most part you are still sharing all of it with baby and we need to be mindful of that. When you’re a nursing or pumping mom you basically put your normal self on hold for two years, the first spent trying to get pregnant and pregnant and the second making sure your baby grows and stays healthy. It’s quite a commitment, but really does go by fast. I know, I’m rambling now! But my point is just to be aware of it, and if you’re a green smoothie addict, then your milk might turn a little green!

Happy pumping ladies and let me know if you have a colorful milk story.

One thought on “Colors of Breast Milk

  1. This just happened to my wife. She pumped her milk and it turned greenish. Now we are asking Dr. Google what it might be lol live was so much easier before every abnormality could be a symptom of corona. Thanks for sharing this article

Leave a comment